The Rabbit’s Story

Back in August, 2012 Donna Wrote about Greta meeting a rabbit on one Sunday morning’s walk. Well, here’s the Rabbit’s side of the story.

I opened my eyes as light started streaming into my borrow, a new day was dawning. After fluffing my cotton tail, and grooming my ears just as thousands of rabbits have done for centuries, I headed out onto the school grounds for some breakfast. This early it was normally nice dew drops on cool grass and weeds. Most mornings I’m only bothered by those nasty smelling yellow things filled with small humans pointing at me. But then on some regular schedule they don’t come, and that’s when other critters bother me. Some of them are tall, and mostly respectful. But they bring other animals with them. There is this one pair, a woman and a redish-brown animal the calls Greta. So I’ll call it Greta too.

Greta looks like a friendly critter, but it has a tendency to try and sneak up on me, standing very still a dozen hops away. Then it lowers it’s head and very slowly pick moves one foot at a time and slowly get closer and closer. When it does that the woman stops and just watches. So I keep on eating while Greta slowly creeps up on my.

ha-Ha, I know it’s coming so when it gets close enough I stop eating, and hop into the tall weeds, that’s when Greta starts chasing me. Yow! Another exciting morning. That’s when the woman starts calling Greta to come back, I know it only wants to play, we could run for hours if need be.

One of my rabbit friends that live on the other side of a field told me about one morning when Greta and he went round and round a shed. with the woman calling Greta while her friend was on the other side of the shed laughing at the show Great and my friend were putting on for them. I wish I’d been there to see that or even to have been part of the race. Oh what fun that would have been.

Creative Commons License
The Rabbit/s Story by Mike Vore is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at https://mostlylab.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/the-rabbits-story/.

About Mike

I'm an avid bicyclist, that also enjoys Kayaking, Nature Photography, Cross Country Skiing and Geocaching. There's nothing more boring than sitting indoors in "good" weather.
This entry was posted in dogs at play, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

